Day 1. Dessert for breakfast

day 1 breakfast pie

Let’s start with the good news – dessert for breakfast!

When I first started investigating raw food I was not inspired by the idea of eating cold zucchini noodles with cold sauce and well, cold EVERYTHING. My friend gave me a book on eating raw food but it seemed really complicated. So I googled raw food recipes, (go on I DARE you). I was impressed. As a vegan I have spent years reminiscing about the days I could eat caramel slice and banana cream pie and here was the promised land, raw versions of every dessert known to man. Well that got me interested. And because the ingredients are mostly nuts and fruit, it’s perfectly acceptable to eat as a healthy breakfast.

So here’s my special Day 1 breakfast treat. Banana Cream Pie. (I’d suggest making it and freezing it the night before, let it defrost for about half an hour, slice a banana for the topping and voila!)

Oh, and it’s all raw – that’s kind of the point here –  so I’m not going to write raw this, raw that. K? You’ll need a food processor to blend the ingredients for this one.

Banana “Cream” Pie

Base:

½ cup walnuts

½ cup almonds

½ cup coconut

½ cup dried apricots

¾ cup majool dates

1 tsp vanilla paste or 1 vanilla pod

Filling:

¾ cup cashews

¾ cup macadamias

½ cup coconut

1 cup dates

1 tsp vanilla

1 tbsp lemon juice

1 cup “milk” (almond or whatever raw milk you like) or coconut water

1 tbsp coconut oil

stevia or agave to sweeten to taste

Blend base ingredients and press into lined spring form pan.

Blend filling, spoon onto base. Freeze for at least 2 hours. Thaw slightly before serving topped with sliced banana and chopped almonds.

Yummo!

About msrawmojo

Writer, Chakradance facilitatrice, bibliophile, lover of art, music and nature. Believer in the fundamental goodness of humanity. Member of the Order of Bards, Ovates, and Druids and currently undertaking studies in Contemporary Shamanism and reiki.

One response to “Day 1. Dessert for breakfast

  1. Pingback: Spunky Wayfarer knits and bakes | Dessert

Leave a Reply

