Day 4. Green smoothies (from outer space)

Green SmoothieJust kidding! Got your attention though. Green smoothies was just not going to do that alone! (And we are not alone). Okay, okay. I’ll stop the ET jokes now.

(The other option was Kermit, because it’s true, it’s NOT easy being green.)

My friend, the one I mentioned on day 2, asked me if I was doing green smoothies to get all my nutrients while I’m on the challenge. BTW check out her blog, it’s amazing, she’s healing from cancer and becoming a super-happy and radiant being using a plant-based diet, positivity, and meditation http://essentiallybeing.wordpress.com.

I had “attempted” green smoothies, but my old blender was not up to scratch so I ended up with a rather crunchy kale smoothie. Not cool. Raw food is supposed to taste good and not to make you gag! The right equipment is essential, but not always affordable straight away.

Today I discovered that baby spinach is much more friendly to blend than kale. Win!

Why smoothies? Well apparently the optimal raw diet requires green veggies, especially the leafy variety, in a substantial volume to ensure adequate nutrition. It’s just too much to munch through 3 -5 cups of green leafies every day, but with a smoothie you can drink your greens and make them tasty too.

I wrote yesterday about how much I love nuts. But lets face it, they are rather full of fat. So it’s important to have other sources of protein. To ensure I’m eating enough of the right foods,  I have been using an app to record my food intake of protein, carbs, nutrients, and fat. Some days, eating lots of nuts and seeds, I have eaten 70-80 grams of fat, which is a lot. Even if my insides know the good fats from the bad ones, my thighs don’t!

Vegetables have heaps of nutrients, but they can get a bit boring in large quantities, especially if you have a sweet tooth like me. Green smoothies mix the leafies with fruit, seeds and even raw protein powders to create a super energising and healthy start to the day. So then, like Marie Antoinette (is there a recurring theme here? Reincarnation anyone?), I can eat cake.

Seriously though. And good health is definitely something to take seriously. Before I started the challenge, a blood test showed I was quite anaemic and my red blood cells weren’t happy at all. I feel blessed to have discovered this before it turned into something more serious, and it also explains why I was feeling so lethargic. I mean I can’t tell you the last time I leapt around my kitchen to Sly and the Family Stone. I’m hoping that after a few weeks of green smoothies I’ll be dancing like a whirling dervish again.

Here’s my current favourite but see the link below for tons more ideas. Drink this baby in the morning and you’ll wonder why you ever bothered with coffee.

Banana, apple, mixed spice, and chia green smoothie

1 banana

1 grated apple

1 tsp grated ginger

1 tbsp white chia seeds

1 tbsp raw protein powder

3 cups spinach leaves

1 tsp mixed spice

1/2 tsp stevia

3 cups water (or use 1 cup coconut water & 2 cups water)

Add all the ingredients except for the spinach and about half the water to your blender and hit the “pulse” button a few times to mush them up. Next, add the spinach and the remaining water and blend on high for 30 seconds or until the smoothie is creamy (don’t over-blend, it will get warm!)

This makes about 4 glasses of smoothie. I drank a couple for breakfast and took one to work for morning tea and I felt fabulous! Goodbye anaemia!

See here for great smoothie ideas:

http://www.incrediblesmoothies.com/green-smoothie-recipes/

And here for raw protein powders:

http://raw-pleasure.com.au/

About msrawmojo

Writer, Chakradance facilitatrice, bibliophile, lover of art, music and nature. Believer in the fundamental goodness of humanity. Member of the Order of Bards, Ovates, and Druids and currently undertaking studies in Contemporary Shamanism and reiki.

Leave a Reply

