Day 9. Raw energy

energy day 9

Okay so it’s a bad photo, could have done with photoshopping, I know, I know. As they say (whoever they are) a picture says a thousand words. This picture is like someone writing on a blackboard 250 times “I have energy now!”

I said last week that I hoped I would be dancing around like a whirling dervish and look-y here. This is me last night at my son’s birthday dinner playing Just Dance 4. I beat (as in, I was victorious against) a 12 year old and a 19 year old, and outlasted them in energy.

Does raw food work? Damn straight!

It’s been a big few days. My dog is still really unwell, she’s back at the vet today for more tests. And I have to admit I’m finding whole mum/worker/blogger job title a little heavy today. And I had to make 26 cupcakes for my son to take to school – and do the dishes, and laundry… Oh, where is my Alice? You know from the Brady Bunch?

Seeing as coffee is out of the question I started investigating other energy foods. Raw cacao gets touted as a superfood, with nutritional claims ranging from reducing cataracts, to improving heart function, and alleviating stress. Theobromine, naturally occurring in raw cacao is a mild, non-addictive stimulant that may alleviate depression.

The ancient civilizations of the Americas used cacao for medicinal and ritual purposes. Raw cacao is high in antioxidant flavanoids, sulfur and magnesium. The essential fatty acids found in cacao may help the body to raise good cholesterol and lower bad cholesterol. There are even claims that raw cacao could reduce your risk of cancer as the high levels of antioxidants reduce the amount of free radicals in the body. (Thanks to vegetarian.about.com for this information)

To compensate for a high pressure week I made these babies yesterday, a couple of these cacao-powered bliss bombs and you’ll be rocking the moves like Jagger too.

choc-coco balls

Choc-Coco Nut balls
I cup mixed nuts
1 cup almonds
1 cup dried coconut
1 cup apricots
1 cup dates
2 tbsps cacao powder
1 tbsp coconut nectar
1 vanilla pod
1/2 cup water

Blend until makes paste that rolls itself into a ball.

Roll about a teaspoon into a ball, dip in coconut and refrigerate. Eat often for energy and joy!

About msrawmojo

Writer, Chakradance facilitatrice, bibliophile, lover of art, music and nature. Believer in the fundamental goodness of humanity. Member of the Order of Bards, Ovates, and Druids and currently undertaking studies in Contemporary Shamanism and reiki.

Leave a Reply

