Day 13. Pumpkinhead

I’m sitting here writing and drinking my green smoothie. Usually I write the posts late at night and schedule them to be published in the morning, but today I have the day off, my son is with his dad, my car is at the repairers, the dog is home recuperating, so I have every excuse not to go anywhere. I also have a pile of clean washing the size of Kilimanjaro which needs to be dealt with. But first things first.

An iron update (for those who are interested). I did end up buying some nettle and alfalfa teas. They taste fine mixed together. I’ve been making potfuls and drinking them. As well as providing iron they also detoxify the liver, so win-win! I went to see my kinesiologist yesterday who said my liver was a little overloaded. This makes sense having changed to all raw eating, of course my body will be detoxifying. It hasn’t been too dramatic for me as I wasn’t eating caffeine, sugar, wheat, or dairy anyway, but there’s no doubt I’m still having a good cleanse and my liver will be working overtime.

I read about steeping the nettle and alfalfa tea overnight, so I did that and used the tea  as well as water in my green smoothie. After reading about iron absorption, I have also clearly delineated my iron uptake (AM) and calcium uptake (PM), as calcium inhibits iron uptake. So I’m doing all my iron boosting in the morning and taking my calcium supplement at night. I’m also now soaking my nuts before blending. It’s not a big deal, I just pop them in water in the morning and they’re ready to blend after work.

I’m also trying to sprout buckwheat for a fabulous sounding raw pizza. Stay tuned for more on that!

My skin looks amazing by the way! Actually yes, let’s talk physical. I’m mean, superficially physical. Part of my motivation for this change in eating was that I felt not only mentally and internally sluggish, but my body didn’t look great either. My skin was breaking out and I seemed to be carrying excess weight in all the wrong places. I haven’t lost much weight, nor do I need to, maybe 1-2 kgs. But my body has streamlined. All that excess tummy bloating and weight around my middle and thighs seems to have dispersed. That’s after not even 2 weeks!

Yesterday I got to thinking about eating a diverse range of foods and of all the vegetables and fruit I hadn’t eaten yet on the raw challenge. I saw an abundance of green foods. Obviously beetroot. Suddenly pumpkin pops into my head. Hence pumpkin-head!

Can you eat raw pumpkin? I googled it! Yes you can! There’s even raw pumpkin pie! Oh, but not today folks, I haven’t made it yet.

I rushed off to the organic shop after work and bought pumpkin, and some cauliflower (because I’m going to the movies and I wanted to try cauliflower popcorn, but alas, also not today.)

Then I kind of went rogue.

I mean, I had recipes, but I just looked at what I’d bought – apples, pears, pumpkin, and cauliflower – and I must of felt some kind of divine inspiration because I just made a salad out of them. I had started making my favourite fruit salad for dessert, with grated apple and ginger, sliced pears, pumpkin seeds, and mixed spices. (It’s great if you make it about an hour before you want to eat it and leave it to sit and all the juices do some amazing synergistic things and it tastes REALLY yummy).

Then I thought, “I’m going to try this with some grated pumpkin too.” So I did. Then I thought, “what about a savoury twist with some cauliflower?”

Okay, okay. I’ll spare you the blow by blow, what about this, what about that. The short version of this story is; I created another awesome salad!

First though, let me tell you about pumpkins. I mean I knew those suckers tasted good, but are they packed to the billy-o with nutrients or what? Yes! Correct. They are.

Pumpkins are full of potassium, magnesium, and vitamins B5, C and E. Tons of fibre. Better still they have a special secret synergistic combination of carotenoids (okay, it’s not really secret, I made that up). Pumpkin contains one of the richest supplies of bioavailable – meaning that our bodies can absorb – carotenoids known to man. In fact, a half-cup serving of pumpkin gives you more than two times my recommended daily dietary intake of alpha-carotene and beta-carotene.

So who cares about carotenoids? You do!

Carotenoid consumption has been shown to decrease the risk of various cancers, including those of the lung, colon, bladder, cervical, breast, and skin; it also decreases the risk of heart disease, cataracts and macular degeneration. And (drum roll please) alpha-carotene reduces aging! Oh yes, bring it ON!

Thanks to http://www.superfoodsrx.com/superfoods/pumpkin/pumpkin-as-a-super-food.html for all that info.

I was going to look up cauliflower too but I’m still on a pumpkin high so I’ll save that for another day. So here’s the salad. It’s so new it doesn’t even have a decent name!

day 13 pumpkin salad

Pumpkin, cauliflower, apple, pear and pumpkin seed salad

1 apple (grated)
1 pear (cubed)
1 inch piece ginger (grated – I put the apple and ginger through the food processor)
1 tbsp pumpkin seeds
1 cup cauliflower (cut into small pieces)
1 tbsp Braggs amino sauce
1 tbsp Nutritional yeast flakes
Pepper to taste

Mix ingredients together in a bowl and eat! Here’s to the fountain of youth!

Title photo source: http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2128/3004314132_c8531ab990.jpg

About msrawmojo

Writer, Chakradance facilitatrice, bibliophile, lover of art, music and nature. Believer in the fundamental goodness of humanity. Member of the Order of Bards, Ovates, and Druids and currently undertaking studies in Contemporary Shamanism and reiki.

Leave a Reply

