Day 16. Wherever I go, there I am

reiki-energy

It’s past the two week mark in the challenge and my tummy is rumbly. Not hungry rumbly, but unsettled. I’m not sure what it is, maybe the nutritional yeast, I have never been good with yeast and even though it’s supposedly pasteurised to avoid it being active yeast, I don’t know. It’s just been the last couple of days since I started eating it, so I’m suspicious.

The other possibility is that I’m detoxing. The symptoms haven’t been too dramatic for me, I think because I had long ago given up the main detox culprits; caffeine, sugar, wheat and dairy. But that doesn’t mean my body isn’t having a good old clean out. Which, without going into unnecessary detail, is what it feels like.

Detox symptoms are often the reason people abandon cleansing diets. The symptoms can initially make you feel worse and like the new eating regime isn’t working, or worse that it’s doing harm. Instead your body is realising it’s safe to get rid of all the accumulated crap and it does so, as fast as it can. Sometimes your body will expel toxins faster than it can get rid of them, hence the symptoms. But remember these toxins have been stored in your body, doing God know what to your system, so you really do want them out.

Depending on how toxic your body is to start with, detoxification symptoms can range from: headaches, lethargy, temporary muscle aches, mucus or other discharge, a coated, pasty tongue, flu-like symptoms, irritability, difficulty sleeping, weakness, cravings, nausea, constipation, diarrhoea, and gas. Choice, huh?

The best way to cope with detox is to drink lots of water and herbal tea, rest as much as you can, eat small, light meals and relax! It will pass. Thanks to http://www.naturaltherapypages.com.au/article/Detox_Symptoms for that info.

Alongside the physical signs of detox, I usually feel emotional symptoms as well. Sometimes these emotions can be quite overwhelming and have me craving for the comfort of a chocolate bar! (Or a family-sized block eaten under the doona!)

I had a lovely chat with a friend yesterday about how we can often use food to stop ourselves being present in our bodies, especially at stressful and emotional times when, lets face it, we would probably rather not be present.

So why does it matter if we stuff our feelings down with food? There are many healing modalities that operate from the belief that we store stress in our cells (even affecting our DNA and what we pass on to our progeny). It’s important to be able to release this storage of stress in our bodies, before it translates into illness. I have mentioned before how helpful I found kinesiology, naturopathy, and homeopathy for my son’s healthy development, and I make use them myself also.

I have always been more than willing to try different healing modalities. I find western medicine limited in it’s insistence on treating the body as a series of disconnected parts, and disregarding the effect of spirit, thoughts, and emotions entirely. I don’t disregard western medicine entirely, I use it where appropriate, but I’m far more interested is holistic medicine and helping the mind and body heal itself.

I had a reiki healing done on Saturday. Reiki is a Japanese technique for stress reduction and relaxation that also promotes healing. It is administered by the laying on of hands and is based on the idea that an unseen life force energy or ki flows through us and is what causes us to be alive. If one’s life force energy is low, then we are more likely to get sick or feel stress, and if it is high, we are more capable of being happy and healthy (http://www.reiki.org/faq/whatisreiki.html).

It was a very beautiful and peaceful experience and I felt very present in my body and able to meditate again for the first time in months.

I have been a sporadic meditator for years. Mostly we (wrongly) believe we are too busy to meditate. At one stage of my life when I had three young boys, I was working part-time, and studying a masters degree, and I meditated religiously every morning. When the boys woke up and starting making noise and the little one climbed on top of me, I learned to make it a practice in present moment awareness. (I am aware of the toddler bouncing up and down on my bladder while his brothers re-enact WWE in the lounge room, OHM!)

For anyone who is interested in meditation, but maybe skeptical about doing it, I recommend the book ‘Wherever you go there you are’ by Jon Kabat-Zinn. It’s a very sensible approach by a Professor of Medicine Emeritus from University of Massachusetts Medical School in why mindfulness and meditation can help everyone, with any problem from stress to serious illness.

Last night was an example for me of wanting to use food to soothe myself and to block uncomfortable emotions. When my ex dropped my son home we had an unpleasant exchange. I needed to speak up about something and he reacted in a predictable way. I was left shaken and upset by the encounter. Shortly after I was making dinner for my son and myself and I was aware of a craving for certain foods. Things like bread and chocolate came to mind. Old “comfort” foods. I made myself a healthy salad and finished off the raw pumpkin pie instead.

Oh well, it’s progress, not perfection! I’m glad of my commitment to eating raw. I’m really relieved to wake up and find that my tummy is not full of chocolate and bread, and I’m not feeling seedy. Instead I had a healthy pie made from my superfood friend pumpkin. I might even treat myself to another one for breakfast… (after my green smoothie of course!)

pumpkin pie

Pumpkin Pie

(adapted from http://www.sweetlyraw.com/2012/11/raw-pumpkin-pie.html)

Crust
1 cups almonds
2/3 cup dates
1/2 cup shredded coconut
1/2 vanilla pod
1/3 tsp mixed spice
1/4 cup water
Blend ingredients in food processor until rolls up into a ball.
Press into the bottom of a pie plate or mini tart pans. (I just used cupcake patty tins)
Filling
1 cups grated pumpkin
3/4 cup pitted dates
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 vanilla pod
1/2 mixed spice
1 tablespoons coconut oil
Blend ingredients in food processor until smooth.
Spoon filling onto bases. Freeze for 2 hours then thaw slightly before serving.
This is super yummy. So yummy I forget it’s really healthy and try to use it as comfort food.

Source title picture:http://reikified.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/09/reiki-energy.jpg

About msrawmojo

Writer, Chakradance facilitatrice, bibliophile, lover of art, music and nature. Believer in the fundamental goodness of humanity. Member of the Order of Bards, Ovates, and Druids and currently undertaking studies in Contemporary Shamanism and reiki.

One response to “Day 16. Wherever I go, there I am

  1. Sharon

    Good for you Tina! xx

Leave a Reply

