Day 19. I scream for ice-cream

Cashew_Banana_Ice_Cream

I knew I had to make ice-cream before I went to work yesterday. I just HAD to. Dishes and laundry be damned, I needed vanilla creamy goodness to come home to. It’s just like that with me.

Up until now I had desserts in my freezer because I was trying out all these recipes and (fortunately) not eating the whole lot at once. At one stage I had so many desserts going I was having “dessert platters”. So decadent!

Alas, last night the party was over. I had eaten my last platter of pie, cashew cream, and ice-cream cake and realised if I wanted dessert I’d have to make some more supplies.

Knowing I was working late I made the ice-cream so it could freeze and be ready to eat when I got home. But what to have with it? I pondered this at work. And then it came to me. A bolt of inspiration. Not an idea for world peace or a solution to global warming. Chocolate sauce. Chopped nuts. This is my mind!

I found an excellent recipe for raw chocolate sauce http://www.forkandbeans.com/2012/09/11/raw-chocolate-sauce/ There is also a recipe for a full raw banana split – if only my last banana hadn’t gone into my smoothie that morning. I’ll be trialling that another day.

It’s also a very funny blog, check out the description of trying to cut open a coconut. Oh yeah, I’ve been there. In fact I’m still there, the bloody coconut is still sitting on the bench after a week – alert but not alarmed by my attempts to crack it.

The thought of this ice-cream oasis awaiting me at home got me through a mountain of work. I assembled my creation. Ice-cream covered with chocolate sauce, chopped nuts and dates. I took a few hurried photos and ate my way through it while watching Under the Dome. (Who loves Stephen King as much as I do, the man can do no wrong – I’m loving that show, crappy acting and all).

After I’d demolished the entire bowl, I checked my photos and thought “oops!”. They were pretty blurry, but I couldn’t reshoot, I’d eaten the props! So I hope you’ll forgive the blurry photo – I must have been trembling in anticipation. I think you’ll get the idea of the level of decadence though. Yummo!

ice cream choc sauceCoconut vanilla spiced ice-cream with chocolate sauce

Chocolate sauce

2 tbsp coconut oil

1 tbsp coconut nectar

1 tablespoons raw cacao powder

1/4 cup water

Blend until smooth and runny

Coconut vanilla spiced ice-cream

1/2 cup cashews

1/2 cup almonds

1 tbsp coconut nectar

1 teaspoon stevia

1 vanilla pod

1 tsp garam marsala

1 tsp mixed spice

1 banana

1 tbsp coconut oil

1 cup water

Soak nuts in water for at least 1 hour and rinse.

Put nuts and all ingredients except water in food processor and blend until ground up.

Add water slowly and blend until smooth.

Freeze for at least 6 hours. Leave out to thaw for 15 minutes before serving.

Serve with chocolate sauce, dried fruit, and nuts or whatever topping you like.

Title photo source: http://vegweb.com/sites/default/files/styles/recipe_large/public/recipe/images/Cashew_Banana_Ice_Cream.jpg

About msrawmojo

Writer, Chakradance facilitatrice, bibliophile, lover of art, music and nature. Believer in the fundamental goodness of humanity. Member of the Order of Bards, Ovates, and Druids and currently undertaking studies in Contemporary Shamanism and reiki.

Leave a Reply

