Day 21. Our daily bread

day 21 sandwich

And here we are. Day 21. It seems that almost as soon as I began, I am done. What seemed at the start – even without the foresight of the various curve-balls life would throw at me in these three weeks – an almost impossible task, has proved entirely possible.

I have eaten 100% raw food for 21 days and each day I have blogged about it. By virtue of my desire to make the posts varied and interesting, I have read about raw food, trawled books and the web for recipes, information, and inspiration. And in this process of searching, discovering, and experimenting, I have rekindled my love of writing and ignited a love of raw food.

I feel like a babe in the woods, every day I learn more and further broaden my vision of raw food, and I know there is so much more to discover. There’s a plethora of blogs, websites, and books out there, of which I have only scratched the surface. My curiousity is piqued.

It seems to me each time I have hit an apparent stumbling block with raw food, every time I have thought ‘I couldn’t live without ___’, all I had to do was a bit of research and there was a raw version of the very thing I thought I couldn’t have.

Today it was bread. Oh, how I love bread. I could write an ode to it. “Oh bread, how I love to eat you, with my favourite spread, every day I meet you, with a desire to be fed…” Okay I’ll spare you my bad poetry, but you get the idea.

Suffice to say, my delight was unparalleled when I realised bread could be a part of my raw lifestyle. It was day 15, and as I tasted the pizza bases I had made, I thought to myself ‘this would make lovely flat bread!’ For two days I washed and rinsed my buckwheat in preparation for this morning’s breakfast, toast.

I spread my bread, straight from my 50 degree C oven where it had been dehydrating all night, with coconut oil and coconut nectar on one slice and nut butter on the other. It was heaven! Yes, I made a savoury bread with thyme, but there was something divine about the way the thyme melded with the sweetness of the coconut nectar and I just melted into a munching, moaning, foaming-at-the-mouth, creature of ecstasy. Yes, I was a happy girl. Maybe too happy, I ate four slices!

day 21 toast

Yesterday after my first batch of bread I decided to make a sandwich. Something I had never imagined was achievable raw. You can see the result in the title photo – how good does that look? Well, it tasted even better. You can’t begin to imagine the texture of this bread. It’s thin and crispy around the edges, like a biscuit, and soft and chewy and bread-like in the centre.

I’m sure at some point I will make another discovery and say this again, but for now this feels like raw nirvana to me. To be able to have bread, glorious bread, in my diet brings me such joy. Give us this day our daily bread… Hallelujah!

So this is it folks. The challenge is complete but the lifestyle continues. I’m more committed to raw food and blogging than ever. Will I be 100% raw? Will I re-introduce some non-raw foods? If so which ones and why? This is the next frontier for me. Moving from a short-term challenge to a sustainable lifestyle. I hope you stay with me for the next part of this journey.

Speaking of journeys, I am taking my son to the UK next week. It’s his first time and the first time I have been in 25 years. So I will be taking raw on the road – and in the air! I have already requested raw meals with the airline, I’m very curious to see what that entails.

So thank you for accompanying me thus far. I’ll be back tomorrow for day 22. I hope you will be too.

And now for the bread recipe.

Buckwheat bread
1 cup buckwheat sprouted
1/2 tbsp coconut oil
1/2 cup nuts (mixed nuts or walnuts are good) (soaked overnight and drained)
3 carrots (grated)
1 tsp dried thyme

1/2 – 1 cup water

(see video on how to sprout buckwheat – need 2 days to allow sprouting)

Blend ingredients in food processor. Add enough water to form a paste like consistency. Spread on tray covered in baking paper (I made 4 rectangular shapes and cut them in half when cooked to make 8 slices)

Dehydrate at 50 degrees C for 6 hours or on low in oven for 3 hours (then turn off heat and leave in oven for another 3 hours.) If you think your oven is too hot, turn it on for an half an hour then rotate off/on. It’s probably a good idea to turn the bread over at the half way mark, but not essential. I didn’t because it was 3am!

Once your bread is ready, you can eat it with your favourite topping. Pictured above is my lunch with sliced mushrooms, capsicum, sprouted beans, grated carrot, beetroot, garlic, and ginger, and nut butter. Also pictured is my brekky ‘toast’ with coconut oil and coconut nectar and nut butter, then I added a banana to that combo and made it into a sandwich (after I took the photos.) Here it is half-eaten. Sooooo delicious!

buckwheat toast brekky sandwich

See here for tips on how to dehydrate raw food without a dehydrator http://rawfoodswitch.com/raw-food-equipment-reviews/dehydrate-raw-food-dehydrator/

About msrawmojo

Writer, Chakradance facilitatrice, bibliophile, lover of art, music and nature. Believer in the fundamental goodness of humanity. Member of the Order of Bards, Ovates, and Druids and currently undertaking studies in Contemporary Shamanism and reiki.

3 responses to “Day 21. Our daily bread

  1. Sharon

    Well done Tina! I’ve really enjoyed your writing style and honesty. Can’t say you’ve enticed me to go Raw (not your goal I know), but three days to make a pizza or 10+ hours for crisps – no way! Very interesting reading about these methods though. You clearly love it! xx

  2. Pingback: Day 51. Time for a dip! | onehundredpercentraw

Leave a Reply

