Day 25. You’re not you when you’re hungry

snickers

Have you seen that snickers ad, the one where Alf from Home and Away goes completely ape? Well that was me yesterday.

The day started with a work meeting in the city. (Well, in truth, the day started with getting a particularly feral child ready for school, dropping him off, then catching a train into the city). Then I did some banking for our trip (only 3 more sleeps!). Next, I had a parent teacher interview, followed by a doctors appointment. And somewhere along the line I realised that a green smoothie and a banana were not going to cut it.

I bought some avocado sushi, my first non-raw food in over three weeks. Boy that brown rice tasted good! Even so, by the time I got home at nearly six and tried to register my cash passport online and it kept changing my year of birth to 1990 and then rejecting me for invalid details (I’m like what? I’m too old to register?)…

I then tried to call the 1800 number, but there were no humans to help, just a voice telling me I had less money and in AUD not pounds, and I had the ALF moment. You know the one, where you find yourself yelling at a computer generated voice,”just let me speak to a real person!”

I really need to calm down. Am I the only one who gets so panicky before travelling overseas? Talk about catastrophising EVERY little thing.

Happy ending though. I calmed myself, managed to register as my rightful age, and said to my son, let’s make those raw snickers, now.

Raw snickers, you say? Yes! As I was trawling around raw blogs the other day, one recipe in particular caught my son’s eye. Raw snickers.

That caramelly, peanutty deliciousness. What’s not to like?

I had tried raw peanuts before and I knew they were awful, so I had dehydrated some the night before in readiness. Once dehydrated the skins come off easily and they taste so much better.

I changed the original recipe a little, just because it had so much fat in it, this version is not that much better, these are not breakfast food people! But they are so rich, you really can’t eat more than one at a time. You can however add them on top on extra caramel sauce and ice-cream. I know, I’m wrong on so many levels! I’m supposed to be getting healthy here!

snickers ice-cream

Look at this caramel – amazing!

snickers saramel

Raw snickers

(Recipe adapted from: http://www.damyhealth.com/2012/10/raw-homemade-snickers-bar/) This quantity makes 12 patty tin sized snickers.

Caramel

1 1/2 cups pre-soaked dates
1 tbsp coconut oil
1 vanilla pod
1/3 cup almond milk

Chocolate

5 tbsp cocoa
2 tbsp coconut nectar or agave syrup
1 Vanilla pod
2 tbsp coconut oil
1/2 cup almond milk

1 cup peanuts (roasted or dehydrated overnight)

Blend caramel ingredients in food processor, scraping down sides and blending until smooth and reaches a caramel-like texture.

Blend chocolate ingredients in food processor.

To assemble line patty tins or silicone moulds with thick layer of chocolate in base and up the sides. Add caramel and peanuts, top with more chocolate.

Freeze for one hour then serve. Guaranteed to soothe the savage beast!

snickers assembly

About msrawmojo

Writer, Chakradance facilitatrice, bibliophile, lover of art, music and nature. Believer in the fundamental goodness of humanity. Member of the Order of Bards, Ovates, and Druids and currently undertaking studies in Contemporary Shamanism and reiki.

Leave a Reply

