Day 26. Friends are like stars…

day 26 kel beetroot bolog

Friends are like stars, you can’t always see them, but they are always there.

I love my friends. I really do. You can tell good friends by how they respond to wacky ideas like going on a 21 day raw challenge and blogging about it! My friend Kel for example will eat any experimental recipe I give her. She’s fearless! We share a love of food, film and music, amongst other things (like Ryan Gosling and Patrick from Offspring!)

There’s so many ways to make friends, one of my dearest friends became so because we went through our divorces at the same time. We must have talked on the phone every day for years to help each other through. My son still refers to her as my “wife”.

My longest-serving (suffering?) friend is Amanda. I’m about to get on a plane and fly for 24 hours to go and visit her in the UK. We’ve been friends for 30 years. *expletive* that’s a long time! She has been there through so many ups and downs in my life, she’s witnessed me growing from a 10 year old school girl, through many teenage incarnations (which spanned well into my 20’s), into a 40 year old woman, as I have her. It’s a very special bond. She’s promised me an embarrassing placard at the airport on arrival. Stay tuned for that! (It’s a worry, she has 30 years of embarrassing photos and stories – really if she wasn’t my best friend, I’d have to eliminate her!)

So last night I served my beetroot bolognese, which I already used as the feature recipe on Day 18. However, I have been experimenting with variations on that theme, the beetroot theme, I love them so. And I do believe I have come up with another winning and oh-so-easy sauce recipe. So, as usual, bung this on some zucchini noodles.

Beetroot “pasta” sauce (serves 2)

1 large beetroot, grated

1 clove garlic, grated

10 sun-dried tomatoes

1 tbsp tahini paste

Blend ingredients in food processor and enjoy on your favourite raw noodles. And beetroot is red so it makes you go faster!

About msrawmojo

Writer, yogi, meditation teacher, sound healer, Chakradance facilitatrice, bibliophile, lover of art, music and nature. Believer in the fundamental goodness of humanity. Member of the Order of Bards, Ovates, and Druids and currently (always) undertaking further studies in yoga, sound healing and Indian wisdom teachings.

Leave a comment