Day 49. Neapolitan Dreams

neo

Ah jetlag! The gift of many returns.

I thought I was safe going to sleep at 8.00pm. Well, I told myself it was safe, but really I was just tired of fighting off sleep. Alas I awoke at 1am. Bright as a button (unlike how I am sure to be this afternoon as I drag myself through another bleary-eyed day).

The upside of insomnia is that there are only certain activities I can do without waking the household. Reading, writing and arithmetic – okay not so much of the latter.

However the internet is always up so I had a chance to have a good old surf.

I find it really easy to become bored with raw food. Another carrot, ho hum. That’s why it’s really important for me to keep looking for inspiration, and there’s plenty to be had.

One of my favourite food bloggers is Joy the Baker (joythebaker.com). She’s not raw or vegan, or even vegetarian but I love reading her blog, and her recipes are really inspiring. She mentions other food blogs and this week it was Wit and Vinegar (witandvinegar.com) who was having popsicle week and where I discovered the recipe for Neapolitan Vegan Popsicles.

I believe I have previously alluded to my love of ice-cream, well these babies called out to me, make me! eat me! So I did. After I ran out to Ikea to buy the popsicle moulds – and a few cushions, a rug, and a shoe holder later…

The original recipe is from this awesome blog dulanotes.com/creamy-vegan-neopolitan-popsicles/

Neapolitan Popsicles

  • 3 1/2 cups raw macadamias or cashews (or both), soaked overnight
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1/3 cup coconut oil
  • 1 vanilla bean, cut and seeds scraped out
  • good pinch of sea salt
  • 1 cup fresh strawberries, cut in half
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice
  • 2 desert spoons cacao powder
  • good pinch of instant espresso or ground espresso (optional)
  • 1/4 cup water

Put cashews, maple syrup, melted coconut oil, vanilla bean seeds and sea salt in a food processor. Blend until the mixture is smooth and thick. Add water as needed if the mixture is too thick. Transfer to a medium bowl.

Add 3/4 cup of the cashew mixture back to the blender with 1 cup of strawberries and lemon juice. Blend until combined. Transfer to a small bowl.

Add a cup of the base cashew mixture to the blender and add 2 teaspoons cacao powder, pinch of espresso powder and 2 tablespoons water. Blend until combined. Transfer to a small bowl.

Add 2 tablespoons of water to the vanilla layer and mix until combined.

Start with whichever flavour you like and add about 2 tablespoons of one flavour into the popsicle mould. The easiest way is to add one flavour to a piping bag (or small plastic bag with the corner cut off) and pipe the flavour into the popsicle mould. After you have the first flavour in the mould, add a popsicle stick and freeze for 30 minutes before adding the next layer. Repeat steps with the other flavours.

After adding the last layer, freeze overnight. Run popsicle mold under hot water to loosen.

Okay so there was a lot of mixture here and I only had 4 popsicle moulds, so I made layers in various plastic containers (see photo above). Lucky I did because my popsicles were a disaster! They lost their sticks and wouldn’t come out of the mould (I had to eat them with a spoon out of the mould – oh, the humanity!). The ice-cream itself was delicious, I just need better moulds for next time.

This is a great base recipe, to which you can add any flavours, banana, coconut, nuts, various fruits. Did anyone say ice-cream heaven?

About msrawmojo

Writer, Chakradance facilitatrice, bibliophile, lover of art, music and nature. Believer in the fundamental goodness of humanity. Member of the Order of Bards, Ovates, and Druids and currently undertaking studies in Contemporary Shamanism and reiki.

Leave a Reply

