Day 55. The power to effect change

Solar-Plexus-fire-girl

So it’s election day here is Oz. I have decided to detach from it all. I voted last week as I had to work today and to be honest I’m really tired of the negativity.

Between the situation in Syria and the political “debate” here at home, I feel very disillusioned with the world. It’s too easy for that to translate into total nihilistic depression for me and I don’t wanna go there!

I have always like this Margaret Mead quote:

“Never doubt that a small group of thoughtful, committed people can change the world. Indeed, it is the only thing that ever has.”

I like it for several reasons; it reminds me that governments and giant bureaucratic organisations do not hold all the power; that being a positive force for good in the world is my ethical core belief; and that it is a waste of my life to whinge and moan and not do anything about the things that bother me.

So I’m detaching from the elections, whoever gets in there will be work to be done to whip them into shape. I donated a small amount to Avaaz.org for their campaign for peace in Syria and I’m researching ways to keep myself positive, upbeat and energetic so I can continue to fight the good fight.

As I was panicking about these things this morning the thought came to me that I am of no use to my family, my community, or the world at large if I don’t take care of myself.

The idea of “self-care” is a relatively new concept to me. I thought that being a decent person was all about being good to others, which of course it is, but if you are so depleted that you’ve got nothing to give, nevermind enough to keep yourself going, then it’s somewhat futile, isn’t it? It’s like when you’re on the airplane and they tell you to put on your oxygen mask before helping others.

Self-care and personal power have been recurring themes for me lately. I had a great reiki session last week focusing on my solar plexus chakra or Manipura in Sanskrit, which means lustrous gem. Life is a lustrous gem, deserving of deep reverence. It’s easy to forget that, in this crazy world we live in.

Manipura is the seat of personal power and will. And if it’s activated it increases our energy, drive and sense of purpose. And who couldn’t use some of that?

I found a wonderful website, by Miranda Kerr’s (the supermodel) mum, Therese, with these affirmations for empowering the solar plexus chakra.

“I am worthy of the best in life.”

“I am capable.”

“I am powerful.”

“I set and reach my goals.”

“I stand up for myself and for what I believe in.”

“I know who I am and where I am going.”

(http://theresekerr.com/the-solar-plexus-chakra-the-key-to-reclaiming-your-power-2/)

It’s also energising to eat bright foods and surround yourself with bright colours and flowers, I think we could all do with that after the election.

And here’s a lovely, bright salad to cheer up your body from the inside.

salad day 55

Change the World Salad

1 cup spinach leaves chopped

1 beetroot sliced

2 carrots sliced

1 apple sliced

1/2 avocado

2 tbsps sunflower seeds

2 tbsps Braggs Amino Acids

2 tbsps cranberry (or orange) juice

1/2 tsp cinnamon

Mix veggies in a bowl, add sunflower seeds. Mix Braggs, juice and cinnamon and pour over salad. And enjoy the taste and the energy burst – fuelled up and ready to change the world, hence the name!

Title image: http://theresekerr.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/Solar-Plexus-fire-girl.jpg

About msrawmojo

Writer, Chakradance facilitatrice, bibliophile, lover of art, music and nature. Believer in the fundamental goodness of humanity. Member of the Order of Bards, Ovates, and Druids and currently undertaking studies in Contemporary Shamanism and reiki.

2 responses to “Day 55. The power to effect change

  1. The salad looks amazing! And, yeah, I didn’t cheer at the elections either.
    I have also put together some clearing chackras exercises on my blog if you have the curiosity to check it.
    http://healthnutmumblog.wordpress.com/2013/07/30/three-exercices-for-clearing-chakras/

Leave a Reply

