day 73. what am I hungry for?

SWEDISH-CHEF-psd71677

Sitting in the sun (again! What bliss) drinking a very tasty green smoothie. I find – for me – it’s a bit hit and miss with my smoothies and juices. I’ve never been a fastidious recipe follower – I’ve never really been a fastidious anything. I follow the Swedish chef’s style of cooking, a bit of this, a splash of that. I have even known to make the la-di-dur-di-dur noises whilst cooking. As a result of my technique, or lack thereof, my output is variable. Usually I just add too many ingredients and the competing flavours make for ‘unusual’ tasting beverages.

Fortunately this morning’s concoction is a good one, seeing as I always drink them anyway, it’s nice to enjoy it!

In preparation for my green smoothie and juice cleanse, I signed up to about 10 new blogs and free email cleanses before deciding to purchase and follow Jess Ainscough’s 10 day cleanse.

Many of these emails I signed up for are just blatant advertising, but one I have really enjoyed and been very impressed with is Sarah Ives from www.ohmyraw.com.

After signing up to her cleanse, she sends out daily emails with various topics to assist people stay on track. As I mentioned in my last post I am reading Marianne Williamson’s Course for Weight Loss and finding it interesting to see the connection between emotions and eating, and learnings techniques to mindfully navigate through food cravings and negative emotions in order to stick to the cleanse.

Sarah Ives talks about feeding ourselves the other kinds of ‘food’ we need – relationships, career, physical activity, and spirituality – and that cravings we often feed with actual food could be for another form of nourishment entirely. Each day she has asked participants to rate these areas and to focus on a few key questions about the level of satisfaction and self-care happening in these areas of our lives.

This stuff is not new to me, but I really need to be reminded that when I nourish myself well in all areas of my life, I naturally treat myself with more care and love and life flows effortlessly. It’s just getting out of the rut of bad habits to get to effortless that can be tricky.

I think laughter is a good start. And the Muppets always make me laugh…

Ode to Joy on YouTube

Oh, and this morning’s smoothie, filled with green leaves and ripe frozen bananas, which have cancer preventing properties (just let them get a few brown spots before you freeze/eat them).

Green Leafy Banana Smoothie

1 1/2 chopped and frozen bananas

1 cup spinach leaves

1 tsp spirulina powder

1 tsp barley green powder

1 tsp chlorella powder

2 tsps maca powder

2 cups water

1 cup coconut water

Blend until smooth and enjoy!

About msrawmojo

Writer, Chakradance facilitatrice, bibliophile, lover of art, music and nature. Believer in the fundamental goodness of humanity. Member of the Order of Bards, Ovates, and Druids and currently undertaking studies in Contemporary Shamanism and reiki.

Leave a Reply

