day 89. consistency and patience – boring! how about some chocolate instead?

cacao beans

I was at a Korean restaurant last night and in the bathroom was one of those generic pictures of a lightning bolt with an inspirational quote. Apparently a misquote from Emerson, but it said something like “Be like nature: her pace is consistency and patience”

You know what its like with those things. One day you read an inspirational quote and groan with how twee it all is. And the next day it hits you between the eyes like God herself is speaking directly to you. I really pondered this.

It makes sense, if you think about it. If you do something consistently and with patience, it means you do it, and you keep doing it, and even when it sucks and it doesn’t seem to be working and you’re sick of it, well, you just keep doing it. And being patient means you’re not at all obsessed with seeing instant results or quick fixes, you just wait, like, patiently.

Now to some of you, this is a duh moment. But to me, its a lightbulb moment, a ray of light, if you will. Because nature always breaks through in the end, green sprouts grow through cracks in the concrete, you just can’t keep her down.

I want to be like nature – quietly irrepressible.

This week, however, I think I’m still under the concrete pavement waiting to break through.

I don’t know where the week has gone, or more to the point I don’t know where I ever found the time to blog, because at the moment, I just can’t seem to.

I blame the juicer. It’s one thing making green smoothies every morning, but juicing as well. It’s very time consuming.

Seriously though, it’s not the juicer. I’m just having another tired phase. I’m so tired, ALL the time. I go to sleep tired, I wake up tired, I drag my tired body through the day.

I think out of all the physical symptoms I suffer, the tiredness is the worst. Because it is really hard to get motivated to do the stuff I need to do to feel better. I JUST CANT BE BOTHERED. Pull the doona up. Nigh nigh.

So I have finally decided that while I believe all the dietary and lifestyle changes are good for me, I need some help with getting over whatever the hell is wrong with me. Because I’ve checked, it’s just not normal to want to sleep ALL the time.

My friend told me about an integrative doctor she is seeing. It’s super expensive which has put me off, as my already straining budget tries to incorporate organic food and my social life evaporates due to lethargy and poverty, but I have become willing to try anything that might help.

So I’ll fork out the bucks for the fancy doctor, but I’ll stick with my smoothies and juices, even though it’s like a full time job, and I already have a job, and a kid, and ten gazillion other things on my plate. Just keep saying it, consistency and patience…

While I’m being so patient, I’ve been experimenting with making my own raw chocolate. A rather pleasurable experiment – far better than my green smoothie experiments. Because really, compared to liquified vegetables, how wrong can chocolate get?

These are my faves so far.

And cacao is really good for you – antioxidants, antidepressants, and magnesium. So don’t worry, they’re guilt-free (in moderation).

raw choc nuts

raw choc

Raw chocolate

So the base recipe is the same:

6 tbsps raw cacao

1 tbsp coconut oil

1 tbsp honey (or other sweetener)

Vanilla essence or pod

Blend in food processor. You know it’s blended when it rolls itself up into a ball.

Add whatever you like in the way of flavourings. The first one I just added some almonds and gave it another spin in the food processor until they were roughly chopped through the chocolate.

The second one has almonds, coconut and goji berries.

Press into a container or chocolate moulds and put in the fridge for at least an hour to set. Chop up into pieces and enjoy!

About msrawmojo

Writer, Chakradance facilitatrice, bibliophile, lover of art, music and nature. Believer in the fundamental goodness of humanity. Member of the Order of Bards, Ovates, and Druids and currently undertaking studies in Contemporary Shamanism and reiki.

Leave a Reply

