day 94. I’m berry, berry happy

gubinge berry

I’m in a writing frenzy!

I started this writing course and I’m supposed to keep a journal, a dream diary and an ideas book. I’ve been writing blurbs for events at work, I have this blog, and up until now, I was also writing on 750words.com. I could probably let that one go.

I’m also doing an email Course In Miracles.

But apart from that, I’m like totally zen and in the moment and not overachieving at all… Bah!

My friend tried to tell me recently that most people consider working and being a mum more than enough. But there’s just so much I want to do.

I’m feeling happy today, so it’s all okay. Why so happy? Treats!!!

I just found some yummy new treats at the organic store. Raw buckwheat cereal, air-dried coconut, and a fabulous superfood powder for my green smoothies with maqui berry, acai berry, camu camu, gubinge and Blue Green Algae (and you thought it was bad!).

How exotic! I was using a green blend, but apparently it’s good to rotate your superfood powders too, so I was very excited to find a new one.

And I was flirted with by the guy at the store who gave me a discount. So win! win! win! Ker-ching! Thank you universe!

I like that there’s an indigenous Australian berry hitting the superfood market.  And that it’s in my new Rainbow powder.

Gubinge (that’s what it’s called) is the highest verified natural source of Vitamin C on the planet. The species is called Terminalia Ferdinandiana (I seriously did not make that up), more popularly known as the Kakadu plum, and it grows in the Kakadu and the Kimberleys. The Kimberley-grown version is higher in vitamin C and is known as Gubinge.

The Kimberley version is left to grow wild, not irrigated or anything. It’s fascinating because they have discovered the uncultivated plants have higher levels of those precious antioxidants. The nutrients, that are so good for us when we eat it, are really there to make the plant itself stronger. And if you pamper the plant, they don’t need to make so many nutrients. A little environmental stress is actually good for them (and us).

Thanks to Loving Earth for that info.

I am so not watering my garden today after reading that. Stress it out, babies!

Yesterday I was at work, and one of my lovely colleagues who is a divine baker had made lemon slice. Oh holy temptation! Lemon desserts are my Achilles heel. I would do a lot for a good lemon tart.

Anyway it got me to thinking about replicating the lemon slice as a raw dessert. So I did. With a few embellishments. Here it is.

I discovered it tasted even better today, so, if you can, leave it to sit in the fridge overnight. If you can – it’s pretty hard to resist!

lemon slice

Lemon-Choc slice

Lemon layer:

Juice and pulp of 1 lemon

Rind of 1 lemon

1/2 cup macadamias

1 tbsp honey

1/2 cup coconut

Blend ingredients and press into a lined brownie tin.

Chocolate layer:

3 tbsps cacao

1 tbsp honey

1/2 tbsp coconut oil

1/2 cup nuts

Press a layer on top of lemon layer and refrigerate overnight. Slice and serve.

You may want to double this recipe, I only made a small amount so I couldn’t do too much damage if I ate it all myself!

About msrawmojo

Writer, Chakradance facilitatrice, bibliophile, lover of art, music and nature. Believer in the fundamental goodness of humanity. Member of the Order of Bards, Ovates, and Druids and currently undertaking studies in Contemporary Shamanism and reiki.

Leave a Reply

